…..so freakin' bad!!!

My Forever Valentine……….

Hello.  My name is Pono and I want to be a skinnyaire.  Tomorrow is a day of great importance, especially with those individuals who have significant others whom they impart of their most intimate feelings, sharing all complexities and beautiful strands of life that make up a relationship. Many of us will discover the path of enrichment in life, finding our truest happiness in our soul mate and finding great fulfillment in putting forth all we have to make the relationship stronger each day and enjoying the strength of the love that is nourished and fostered by both committed individuals.  A wise man once told me, “The greatest moment in our life will be when we find someone who we love with all our souls and they reciprocate that love back.  Why call it a moment?  Because when this happens that very moment can last the rest of our lives.”  I am convinced that is true.  An uncle of mine once asked me a very bold and honest question one night.  He asked me is marriage is worth it.  I responded and said as I truly believe this, “yes, uncle, marriage is worth fighting for.”  I have been blessed to have such a wonderful woman who has reciprocated that fierce and deep love that I have expressed to her.  She has a very unique quality that few possess.  She is able to make any person of any background, creed, ethnicity……you name it, feel comfortable around her and trust her instantly.  She has a way of emulating love for all people regardless of who they are.  Many of my friends asked me is she was from Hawaii because she, “has so much Aloha.”  Valentine’s Day is significant to both my wife and I because it is the day I proposed to her.  I did it on this day so I would always effortlessly remember this and be able to tell my children and them theirs of when and how I asked their mother for her hand in marriage.  I decided to share a little background on Valentine’s Day with the many legends that precede it.  Here are a few of them: 

Emperor Claudius II decided that single men made better soldiers than those with wives and families, he outlawed marriage for young men. Valentine, realizing the injustice of the decree, defied Claudius and continued to perform marriages for young lovers in secret. When Valentine’s actions were discovered, Claudius ordered that he be put to death. Other stories suggest that Valentine may have been killed for attempting to help Christians escape harsh Roman prisons, where they were often beaten and tortured. According to one legend, an imprisoned Valentine actually sent the first “valentine” greeting himself after he fell in love with a young girl–possibly his jailor’s daughter–who visited him during his confinement. Before his death, it is alleged that he wrote her a letter signed “From your Valentine,” an expression that is still in use today.

Whether they are true or not, Valentine’s Day is a day to express our love to our significant other, in particular, and to those whom we have developed relationships with including family members, close friends and whoever we feel a need to recognize in our life.  We should always express ourselves to those we love but Valentine’s Day is a day set aside for just that.  So, take advantage of this entire day.  Let whoever in your life know how much you love and appreciate them.  I want to express my love to my wife on this special day.  I am here in Hawaii but my heart and mind are always her. So on this very special day, Happy Valentine’s Day, Christa!  I love you!

2 responses

  1. Christa

    I love you with every ounce of my soul! Thank you for such a wonderful post. I miss you! Happy Valentines Day!

    February 14, 2012 at 5:14 pm

  2. It is so beautiful and romantic! 🙂

    February 15, 2012 at 8:34 am

Leave a Reply

