…..so freakin' bad!!!

Photos and measurements and exercise, oh my……..

 

My beautiful triathlete sister who is an inspiration to me!

Hello.  My name is Pono and I want to be a skinnyaire.  Yesterday and the day before were great!  More than great, they were motivating.  How, you say?  My sister called me and asked me to meet her at the gym!  When someone else goes with you, calls you, stops by and invites you, texts you, emails you, or just plain harrasses you with the purpose of doing it with you, it can make a world of a difference between not going and going with a purpose.  I will say that it is much easier and funner to meet someone who is right there with you than to fly solo.  I mean, let’s check out history.  History only proves its better flying with a co-pilot.  There was Adam and Eve in the garden together, Bonnie and Clyde livin la vida loca, Fred Flintstone and Barney Rubble, Bam Bam and Pebbles, Mutt and Jeff, Pinkey and the brain, Phineas and Ferb, Stockton and Malone, Montana and Rice, Jordan and Pippen, the Olsen twins, Batman and Robin….need I go on?  So, for this blog, thanks sis!  I have posted a couple of pics of my triathlete sister who made it to the world championships held in New Zealand next summer.  There she will compete for eternal glory…..oh, wait, that’s from Harry Potter….where she will compete for the world triathlete title!  Right now she is in the process of looking for sponsors so if any of you readers read this and know of people who donate to causes of athletic prowess, then give me a holler via comment and let me know!  I will be having her guest write on the bl0g from time to time about her training tips and such.  These pics are of her on some photo shoots, modelling for the likes of Trailrunner magazine, Brooks shoes and other athletic outdoor accessories.

When  in doubt, burn it out…….

There is definitely truth to the saying, “old school”.  Walking/jogging/running is old school and it is one of the few exercises that shows the most results with the most pain involved.  I am doing lots of cardio now.  I ride the bike for a couple of miles at a decent clip all the while sprinting for thirty-second intervals in between the huffs and puffs and screaming thoughts of STOOOOOOOOOOOOP running through my sweaty head!  I’m not gasping for air anymore, I’m begging God to shove it down my lungs as fast as he possibly can before I pass out!!!  I’ve been at it a couple of days and notice a huge difference in my knees.  The bike has strengthened my legs and my knees don’t hurt.  In fact my legs feel quite strong.  Hmmmmm.  Go figure.  Exercise = strength.  Genius.  I’m trying to find other exercises to incorporate as I inflict this torture on myself.  I, at times, don’t feel like going.  But then, I think of Drew, and I think of my friend Jeremy, and everyone else rooting for me.  I can’t let them down.  My kids are my biggest fans and I can’t let them down.  My example will instill a sense of health wellness in each of my children for life and not because I preached it to them on top of my parental pulpit.  So, I lace up my shoes with all these factors and people in mind and I do it again.  And I do it again.  Why?  Because they’re worth it.  Because I’m worth it.  That’s why.  Anyone care for a side of abs with  those biceps???

Side view of progress

Frontal view of progress weekly

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Measurements:
 
Chest:  51 1/4 inches
 
Belly:  61 1/2 inches
 
Biceps:  19 inches
 
Thighs:  31 inches
 
I thought I started at 61 inches on the belly but that is just not so.  I have lost, probably four inches in the belly so I think I was more around 65-66 inches.  I am trying to find a good scale to weigh in on but the only place I may be able to go is 24-hour fitness.  So, tomorrow I go there and see if they will let me step on it.  Until then, I’ll upload photos and measurements weekly on Friday.  Sorry I was a day late.  It will be Fridays.  Until tomorrow, don’t let the bed bugs bite!
 
 
2 responses

  1. yay for you and knowing you and your body are worth the fight! Keep going! 4 inches is great progress! Kelci is a lean and mean running machine!

    You’re blog is entertaining! I’m excited to read more and see the new you in the coming year!

    December 5, 2011 at 7:21 pm

  2. kailee naihe

    woohoo! lovelovelovelovelove times 10. you’re losing weight while i am gaining! good for you, crappy for me! time to follow the footsteps of you, brother. inspiration!

    December 7, 2011 at 9:47 am

Leave a Reply

