…..so freakin' bad!!!

Like Adele says, “I can have it all”!

 

Hangin with the gang!

Hello.  My name is Pono and I want to be a skinnyaire.  It has been a while since I posted.  I took a little break for the Thanksgiving holiday and I also struggled with myself and the very small amount of weight I had been losing.  I realized something huge throughout the process.   Well, it wasn’t without some professional help…..and I don’t mean Uncle George in the big white building with the pretty padded rooms……..help.  I saw a picture of a friend out family knows very well.  She was never a large person, and in decent shape, but always wanted to have the lean, ripped look.  She struggled with her ability to lose, also and to slim down her legs and buttocks area.  Now, she looks like she stepped out of a Muscle Magazine issue or one of Ironman.  She looks absolutely professional in her body physique!  What a transformation!  Two days before seeing her, I heard somone say its 90% diet.  Then, on our friend’s facebook, she says it is 75% diet and the rest is work.  Do you see the common denominator?  I might not have been the quickest at fractions, but I get a common denominator when I see one.  It is DIET!  Then, I come across a blog. The blog is called www.fit2fat2fit.com.  A certain gentleman started his journey in remarkable shape with a physique that most dream of.  Then, he gained between 60-80 lbs.  Now, in the next six months, he is going to lose the weight and get back to exactly the way he started out and he lists his meal plan daily and a meal plan for females, also.  I have the honor of having him follow me whenever he has the time since he is such an inspiration to many and busy losing the weight.

These are the before and after pictures of his weight gain and now he is working to educate people on how to eat and exercise while he loses this weight and gets back to original form!    He is already seeing and experiencing living life on the chubby side.  His thoughts are changing and he has changed about what he thinks of himself.  His journey is one all of us are undergoing so don’t forget to follow him. 
 
Thanksgiving doesn’t have to mean Thanksgaining……
 

This Thanksgiving was a great time for me and my family.  We got together with family on different sides of the in-laws.  We gathered at Crystal Beach and hung out for the day…..and the day was pristine and clear.  We had a great time.  There were lots of pre-dinner snacking so to be wise I took advantage of the foods that were freshest and not most cooked or fried!  I loaded up on lots of veggie trays and they were yummy to the tummy.  Now, doing this allowed me a smaller than usual plate, and when I say usual, I’m talking a plate that looks like someone used a shovel to get all that great food on.  So, I did have considerably smaller portions, although I will admit I have three pieces of pie….I figured we never eat pie like that and I love pecan, pumpkin, and berry so down the hatch they went with a little whipped topping to crown the momentous occasion.  I am not a usual “sweets” kinda guy but pie had my name written all over it.  I ate and did not feel one bit guilty.  This is something I do not ever do so not only was it delicious but super fun!  Thanksgiving is definitely a day to eat and enjoy one another’s company.  My philosophy is this………enjoy yourself, chew your food well, and engage in conversation.  I notice when I do those things while eating, I become full and notice it and end up stop eating because it interferes with the good conversation.  I do not stress over what I might have eaten since Thanksgiving is once a year.  If you had one plate and restrained from another, then good for you and pat yourself on the back!  If not, not worries.   Now, I am back on track with fire under my tush.  I changed my workouts considerably to a little weightlifting and then a couple of miles on the bike with sprints in between each minute of thirty seconds, a mile walk/jog and swimming a quarter mile in the pool.  I do this twice weekly and the other days I double up either on the biking and running or running and pool — you get the pic.  Do I still have bad days.  Of course.  I had a bad couple of weeks.  I also, in my defense of not posting  regularly, have been busy with painting, repairing garage siding, landscaping the front lawn and doing other things around the house that is necessary.  However, I will say I have missed whoever reads this.  I have missed your comments and eyes and encouragement.  I say to you that I will be more consistent now.  I am finding my mojo, my groove, my hop after the hip.  It’s good to be back and good to be with you all again.

 
Its all about the diet……..
 

Since I have started my clean eating, I have noticed a difference all ready in my mind, health, and overall well-being along with seeing better results in weight loss.  It is the hardest thing to do, to have will power to stay the course and deny you body of all the wonderful junks we, as human beings, have come to enjoy.  Do I crave certain foods still.  Um, sometimes I imagine the food I’m eating is a big juicy burger or a piece of rich, thick cheesecake.  Yeah, I crave.  But, it is all about the journey and the end result.  I have been doing my diet three days now and have stuck by it with such conviction that I know this Friday will be epic for me.  I am inspired by people posting pics so I spoke with my wife and I’m posting a pic this Friday with measurements just like Drew is doing on his website and will continue to do so here on out.  He has inspired me to do so and see my results.  I follow his meal plan somewhat but do not limit myself to fruits and veggies.  I eat as much of those as I want.  I hardly eat any kind of protein and do not take protein shakes as I will do this as naturally as possible and to show those who cannot afford protein shakes or supplements that it can still be done eating well and getting lots of rest.  So, this Friday, I will post my measurements and my weight and my pic.  SCARY!!!  I know this will help me to overcome all my obstacles and be free from this once and for all! 

I was the Candyman on Halloween night!

 

4 responses

  1. Christa

    Go baby go!!! Great job! You have been doing awesome! I’m so proud of you! Keep up the good work! I Love you!

    November 30, 2011 at 2:38 am

  2. me

    Yeah dude, that guy is awesome!! He is amazing. Our facebook friend is also pretty dang amazing…if they can do it, we can do it 🙂

    November 30, 2011 at 3:28 am

  3. Daisy

    This is exciting Pono!! Good luck!! Stay true to your convictions! You CAN do it!

    November 30, 2011 at 9:20 am

    • Christa

      Thanks Daisy! How the heck the Kim clan has been???

      November 30, 2011 at 6:09 pm

Leave a Reply

