…..so freakin' bad!!!

Un-supersize me please!

Huffin and a puffin to lose that belly........

Hello.  My name is Pono and I want to be a skinnyaire.  I don’t know if I had told you but my brother-in-law had hooked me up with a gym membership to Lifetime Fitness.  WoW!  Lifetime Fitness is such a beautiful gym.  It does not have the huge “WoW” factor with ostentatious amenities or the palacial-sized locker rooms with livingroom furniture or protein-flowing water fountains.  It is very homely inside.  The decor is quite nice with different sections having different feels to the area.  Even the lighting has an inviting call to each part of the entire club.  It is smaller, yet very comfortable.  I enjoy it thoroughly.  I have been one of the many who answer to its beckoned call.  There is almost a sacredness, at times, to the place before the rush of people enter through the front doors.  You can smell the sweat that has been shed there, the pain it has inflicted on many a soul.   And yet, you can feel the release of stress and tension on each dumbbell…..on each machine.  There has been many a pound lost within the walls of this facility.  This is a place of  triumph and honest work.  A place where everywhere you look, there are mirrors reflecting your true self back at you.  It is a place of real and honest reflection both outwardly and inwardly.  The inwardly begins to take on a confidence all its own once the outwardly starts to shrink.  You can’t run from you in there.  It is a religion all its own.  You go, you prepare, meditate, warm up, stretch, and begin your daily routine.  Then, you close at the end with a cool down, all the while focusing on the rhythm of your body.  It isn’t just a club or gym anymore.  It is a place of refuge where just for an hour or two, we, to ourselves, are the most important person in the world and I am just now realizing that I am worth those one or two

Higher, daddy, higher!

hours every day.  Our bodies are our temples.  Let us honor them as such.

Adding to my “About me”

I have decided to add to my “about me” on my homepage.  I will be doing that later on today and giving a breakdown of my week.  I will be writing about certain topics and myself each day and will have that for you in my “About me” section.  In this way, I won’t have to stress about writing what  I eat daily or my exercise routine daily.  I can skim over that briefly and share my feelings and pains and do the bulk of that on one day and log it in as my new post for that week and day.  I will use one day for my diet and all the recipes that follow.  I am new to blogging so I apologize to any who are confused or wondering about what I eat.  I feel doing it this way will help me organize my blog life better and give you better blogs about me and my triumphs and struggles.  I actually have fantastic recipes that I would love to share with you, also, especially since a lot of them are personal or family recipes.  So, later on this afternoon, I will add on to my “about me” section and you can follow my journey.

Starting from Scratch

As I started attending Lifetime Fitness daily now, I have had to start from scratch.  If you do too much when you are first starting or have been out of it for a long time, it is in your best interest to start light, very light.  I am not ashamed to lift much lighter weight than my counterparts in the gym.  It is all about technique over weight.  If you can master great technique,  you’re job is half over.  Your strength will be greater and your physique will be much more proportionate and growing muscle will be much smoother.  I actually jogged a half mile the other day!  YaY!  I am so out of shape it isn’t funny.  I was so proud of myself.  I might have been jogging very slowly, but it was my jog and I put forth heroic effort.  Today, I’m planning on doing circuit training with cardio only.  I’m going to hit the indoor track, then swim and kick for half an hour.  Oh, I can’t wait!  Remember, look for another post later on this afternoon!Pinned Image

Halloween is coming up so Happy Halloween you guys!!!

3 responses

  1. Jordan

    That’s really nice of Terry and Kelci. It shows that WE ARE ALL cheering you on from your corner! Keep on throwing those punches at the belly until the man underneath is the only one standing! Imua!

    October 9, 2011 at 1:06 am

    • Hey Jordan,

      Yeah, that was awesome of Terry and Kelci. In exchange we are buying them $50 worth of food. Fifty for fifty. They take it out of their grocery money so no skin off anyone’s teeth. works out very well for all of us! I wonder what all the gym-goers who build slowly throughout the year will think when my physique surpasses theirs? Number 2, I wonder what they’ll think when I show up in tip-top condition for bball night at the gym and I tear the rim down? stoked to be back in shape in a few months! IMUA!!!

      October 9, 2011 at 1:59 pm

  2. Nice to catch up on your update. You’re definitely on the right track…keeping it balanced. Way to go!

    October 11, 2011 at 4:25 am

Leave a Reply

