…..so freakin' bad!!!

On your mark…….get set…….go!

Hello.  My name is Pono and I want to be a skinnyaire.  Let me tell you something……being sick is the pits.  My throat, and specifically, my tonsils are so sore.  There isn’t any puss in them….yet…….but I’m keeping vigil over them.  They are affecting my ears and more specifically behind my ears with my eustachian tubes.  I was told by a chiropractor, once, to massage

Whole wheat tortillas with ham and turkey slices, lettuce, tomato, sliced cheddar with a teaspoon of low-fat ranch dressing......Yummy to the tummy!

the eustachian tubes in a downward motion applying pressure until it was uncomfortable and do that for a minute and then switch sides.  It is supposed to alleviate pressure by clearing the tubes and allowing for unobstructed drainage to occur.  We’ll see.  Today is my big weigh in but I just don’t think I’m going to make it today.  I apologize for it because I was really looking forward to it but I just don’t feel good right now.  I’ve pushed it to Wednesday which gives me enough time to get over this bug.  I’m just very lethargic and sleepy tired and sore tonsils and ears.  I still think I’m going to continue lifting through this and loading up on lots of water and vitamin C and Zinc. 

Quiche….wonderful Quiche!

My wife prepared a wonderful quiche this morning.  It is the first one she has attempted to make

Quiche is a wonderful balance of several food groups and is truly delicious!

and it was very delicious.  We substituted real bacon for turkey bacon, used low-fat cheese and low-fat cream cheese, broccoli and eggs.  WoW!  Very delicious and a great source of protein, dairy and vegetables.  I will post the recipe on this site after I finish this posting.  What a great balance of the different food groups.  We will be making vegetarian ones and other types of Quiche since it turned out so well.  Last night we had my son’s birthday dinner of hamburgers.  We home-make each patty and add our own “secret” teriyaki sauce to it that is just wickedness in a handbasket.  The burgers were juicing and spilling over on the grill and when cooked right to a medium, they are tender and oh so dreamy.  Through the lips and over the tongue lookout tummy here it comes!  One word for these burgers…..EPIC!  And you can take that to the bank.

Why wait till nighttime to workout, honey???

This question has come my way by means of wife many times.  I have given her many reasons.  The truth?  I am ashamed to go out during the day and go for a walk/jog.  I am not comfortable in my own body.  How is that???  It might seem ridiculous to a lot of you but these are real feelings.  I now know and can empathize with all those people who are struggling with their weight.  I will not and do not feel ready to workout in public.  Let me tell you of an experience I had at the store.  The other day in Walmart I saw a man, not much older than I and probably younger than my young age of 35 who was quite large.  I saw him sway back and forth with concerted effort as he made his way out of the bathroom stall to wash his hands.  He had his pants pulled over his belly, possibly to hide what can’t be hid by the pants, making the bottom hemmed portion of his pant legs seem like high-water pants.  I could see the frustration in his walk and the amount of energy spent on his face that let me know how much it took for him to even move.  His breathing was labored and he did not wear a wedding ring.  Not even a hint of a circular mark left by a ring once worn.  He seemed to be single by the way he handled himself, how he looked at his reflection in the mirror.  His face carried that look of, “how do I look today”, look.  I saw him walk out the door and I followed with my three-year-old daughter holding my hand.  She needed to go and going into the girl’s bathroom is NOT an option for me.  I watched him carefully swaying from side to side.  I wanted to yell out at him and tell him that I knew what he was feeling.  He approached an electric cart he was using to wheel him around the store and bent over for a good ten or fifteen seconds to unplug it and wrap the cord up.  When he came up his face was flushed bright red as he bent over the scooter resting his body on his forearms that had found the top edge of his seat.  His breathing had become labored again from exerting the bend over.  I know he could not breathe when he bent over.  That has happened to me before…putting on shoes, putting on socks, scrubbing my feet…..need I go on.  He eventually made it into the scooter, started it up and gently eased his way back out into the world of strangers staring at him and wondering what his medical condition might be.  Don’t lie.  You have all thought that about everyone riding those things that you have come across while shopping.  I am empathetic to all who are like me now.  I no longer need to wonder but can have only compassion for them.  This blog is my reaching out to all of them and anyone who thinks it can’t be done.  We’re going to do this and we’re going to do it with style.  So, on go.  On your mark……get set………wait, is it dark outside…..okay….and………..go!

Leave a Reply

