…..so freakin' bad!!!

Jalapenos are our friends……

Food for thought

Hello.  My name is Pono and I want to be a skinnyaire.  I thought I would blog this first blog today with some of the recipes, food substitutions and additions I have done to make better my eating repertoire for both nutrition and taste.  I cook in bulk and a lot to taste since you can tweak it to your liking.  I love this dish I made last night because of the flavor and also it is so healthy for you.  Just natural foods and peppers.  Hot peppers are known to assist in boosting your metabolism and helping increase your fat-burning capabilities.  Follow the link to read up on the benefits of hot peppers.

 

 

Chicken chile rojo

5 lbs. chicken thighs

2 onions cut to your liking

6-8 jalapeno peppers, seeds removed and diced

8 tomatoes diced

3 Tbsp. cumin

salt and pepper to taste

1 bunch of cilantro

1 whole lime

4 poblano peppers (optional)

You can roast the garlic and peppers or not.  I did not.  To make it easy I used a large, deep pan with a little saffron oil (your preference) and put the chicken thighs in whole.  I let them cook for five minutes per side before flipping over to other side.  I diced up all the peppers, tomatoes, onions, cilantro and after the chicken has been cooking for about ten minutes,(also to allow me to prep the veggies), I added it to the pan.  You can also put all of it in a blender with cilantro included and puree and pour in pan to make it ten times easier.  Add 5 cups of chicken stock.  I even added one can of tomato sauce….its to your liking.  Cook down until chicken comes apart without effort.  Then, it is ready!  Squeeze lime juice all over and stir in.  Can serve over rice, spanish rice or tortillas.  I just made white rice and added a tomato chicken bullion cube to the pot while it cooked.  Yummy and healthy! 

 

 

 

 

 

My own recipe for chicken chile rojo

 
 
 

 

One response

  1. jordan

    Sounds ono!!! Pono’s Ono’s! LOL

    September 26, 2011 at 1:57 am

Leave a Reply

