…..so freakin' bad!!!

Curry, smoothies and salads…..oh my!

Raspberry smoothie!

Hello.  My name is Pono and I want to be a skinnyaire.  I woke up yesterday and had a wonderful feeling in my knee.  Let me tell you….the sun was slowly coming out to allow our night’s rainfall, which was much needed, cool our morning air.  There’s nothing like walking outside and actually smelling the plants and flowers instead of the pavement and pollution.  Rain washes down the earth, even cleansing the sky.  Even the plants perk up, looking more vibrant and alive and the smells of the flowers and the cool air invigorate one’s soul.  The air was not heavily laden with summer’s usual companion, humidity.  Yesterday was a great day. 

Up, up and away………….

My knee was feeling a million times better.  Much of the stiffness had left me, leaving me nearly pain free.  I would still be cautious with it, but, I would still do my workout with everything I had.  I decided to do a 25-minute workout with the Biggest Loser Cardio workout DVD with Bob Harper.  Let me tell you, for 25 minutes , all you do are squats and lunges.  That’s it.  And, you do them at a good speed the entire time.  Let’s just say sweating is not the correct word for this rendezvous.  Its more like peeing out of every pore in your body.  Literally.  Even though my knee was still slightly tender, lunges and squats done with strict technique strengthens my legs and actually helps my knee to feel better.  That’s because I am building the muscle around my knee to help support and stabilize it so it takes pressure off the joint by strengthening it.  There are also a few exercises you can do to strengthen your knees without putting pressure on them.

Meals……..

Yesterday morning I ate a bowl of homemade yogurt with homemade granola and some preserves.  Yummy!  This morning I had a half cup of white rice and one cup of authentic chicken curry.  So delicious, so tasty and so healthy for you.  We also made the Biggest Loser raspberry smoothie.  Make sure to look under my next blog today for the curry recipe and smoothie recipe

Indian chicken curry!

 under my recipes section found at the top of my blog homepage.  Last night for dinner, I had half a lemon and herb chicken and a salad with two tablespoons of light Ranch dressing.  Ahhh, so delish!!!

One week free pass to Life Time Fitness…….

I signed up for a one week free pass to Life Time Fitness so today I will be seeing an associate and after that, it’s on.  They have a rock-climbing wall, indoor and outdoor pools, weight area, cardio area, and much more.  I hear they are pretty awesome so I’m pretty excited to go.  I will definitely be taking advantage this week and doing a lot of swimming and kicking, lots of treadmill and lots of weight training.  I can’t wait and I will absolutely post pics…….Happy sweating!!!!!

Leave a Reply

