…..so freakin' bad!!!

Let’s Go!

Hello.  My name is Pono and I want to be a skinnyaire.  Today was another glorious and majestic day in Texas.  First and foremost, let us all remember and pray, if you do, and keep in mind those in the Texas wildfires.  Many have lost their homes to this devastating fire and more are at the mercy of this raging inferno.  It consumes and moves quickly due to our extraordinary dry conditions from lack of a good downpour and a record-breaking index.  So, take a moment and reflect on the things you have and count each blessing. 

Now, I just came in from doing some yard work today.  We just picked up a new weedwhacker and I just had to put it to good use.  So, for today, I actually moved around…….and the prize goes to the man in the corner!  Oh yeah!  This morning was beautiful!  Cool breezes, low temperatures……..just what the doctor ordered!  So, climbing out of bed my spirits were high with visions of me running through the streets at high rates of speed and watching the fat melt away!  So as I stumbled through the room and downstairs all my aches and pains merrily made themselves present in my knees, calves, back……..without invitation, mind you.  Suddenly, those dreams of running tirelessly on my street path seemed to fade away into a blurry haze of pain and breathlessness.  I always have high hopes and big dreams and a true desire to exercise.  Daily, mind you.  Then, reality sinks in and I question myself.  Getting going is the hardest thing for me.  Once out there, it’s on.  But putting on my shoes….it’s like trying to get my kids to eat raw spinach and brussel sprouts. 

So, the question crosses my mind all the time, “Why do I need to exercise”?  I mean, I look in the mirror and Wham!  Okay, so I’m a little overweight — scratch that — I’m a lot overweight.  But no, that’s not the reason.  I have six reasons.  My beautiful wife who supports me and is my rock when I have nothing to lean on.  And, I have my five beautiful kids.  And they are sooooo beautiful.  I want to live for them.  I want to run with them and jump with them and wrestle them till they fall asleep and not the other way around.  I have borderline hypertension blood pressure, am walking the line of diabetes right now, have sleep apnea at night so I don’t get the restful sleep I should which puts me at a higher risk of heart attack and stroke along with my other statistics like an oversized waistline.  My knees ache at times when I’m up on my feet during the day and my feet kill me at the end of the day.  I am always hot and always adjusting my shirt so it doesn’t hug my portly figure.  I am self-conscious in public of my belly and my full face and yearn to be comfortable in my own body.  I yearn to walk and not feel the stress on my back and knees and want to work all day in the yard and finish in the early evening ready for dinner, put the kids down, watch a movie and have a great conversation with my wife all before 10:30 p.m. and not feel like a truck ran me over.  And I so want to run a 5k and 10k run and one day in the next six months, I want to enter a triathlon.  This inspiration comes from my sister who gave birth 11 months ago and just made the U.S. National triathlon team that will be going to New Zealand next summer to compete. 

So many goals seem so daunting, so overwhelming that I want to not try, not want to even start.  But then, I hear my wife softly remind me that I take it one day at a time.   I need to crawl before I walk.  And so, with the seemingly unattainable task to accomplish all these goals, I set my next two for tomorrow.  #1:  Do better than yesterday.  #2:  Change the one thing I have control over, my attitude.  Of course I have goals such as walk a little more quickly than before, or lift weights on top of walking and eat a more balanced meal plan all day tomorrow.  However, I always want to do better than yesterday in all I do, not just in exercise and eating, but in being a father and a husband.  And second, if I wake up with the right attitude, there are no internal battles or questions of self-doubt but the persistent and strong voice within me whispering, “Let’s go”!

3 responses

  1. katierawlins

    You have a beautiful family! Keep up the good work. 🙂 I’m currently training for a 5k myself. I have always dreamed of being a runner. Good luck!

    September 9, 2011 at 2:33 am

    • Thank you for the wonderful comment and I wish you the best in your endeavors of conquering the 5k. Let me know how well you do!

      September 11, 2011 at 2:34 pm

  2. Jordan

    Very inspiring! The metamorphosis has begun!!!! Break out of that cocoon and fly you gorgeous butterfly you! I am in terrible shape right now myself and your blog has inspired me to get up and do something about it! I am pushing 270! Whoa!

    September 17, 2011 at 7:55 pm

Leave a Reply

